Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Tufts Night at the Pops, 1901


Tufts Night at the Pops takes place every year on the Thursday night before commencement. The program generally includes a performance of Tufts songs, and recently has included performances by Tufts groups such as the Beelzebubs during intermission.

The first Tufts Night at the Pops was held on May 29, 1901 at newly opened Symphony Hall in Boston. Professor Leo R. Lewis, at the time head of the music department, initiated and coordinated the event. He also conducted a number of Tufts songs during the program, including "Dear Alma Mater," which Lewis wrote. On Tufts Night, the university buys out the 2304 seats in Symphony Hall, and makes the tickets available for alumni, faculty, trustees, and students. From the beginning, it has always been a sold out event. In the early years of Tufts Night, the gatherings got relatively raucous. Tufts students sang along with university songs, danced, waved Tufts banners, and drank wine, beer, and champagne. Occasionally, the planned program was interrupted by an unplanned version of the Tufts College Cheer. The alcohol-fueled rowdiness caused the program to be cancelled in 1914, but it was reinstated the next year after many students protested the cancellations. On the thirtieth anniversary of Tufts Night in 1931, Arthur Fiedler, then conductor of the Pops, presented Professor Lewis, who conducted a few numbers every year, with a Paul Revere silver bowl "for having led the Pops orchestra for a longer number of years than any other conductor." Tufts, in fact, was the first college to have a special night at Symphony Hall.

Since its inception, Tufts Night at the Pops has been one of the most popular events of Senior Week. The program still occasionally features Tufts performers, and has even been televised on WGBH as part of the "Evening at Pops" series.

Source: AO#14, TW, TAR

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources