Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History
Golf Course, 1924-1958
|The Golf Course was built in 1924, spanning nearly the entire downhill section of the Medford campus. Constructed entirely by students, the six hole golf course provided room for physical education classes and extra-curricular activities for almost thirty-four years.|
In 1923, President Cousens expressed his interest in the construction of a golf course at Tufts College, claiming it would help bring Tufts back to the forefront. In fact, although this has been subsequently disputed, Tufts claimed that its course would be the first golf course on any college campus in America. Cousens personally subsidized preliminary arrangements and expenses for the course, provided that students volunteered to construct the course. The next year, using a design by architect Wayne Stiles and his assistant John R. van-Kleck, construction began. Under the watchful eye of philosophy professor Robert C. Givler, students were asked to volunteer five hours per week towards the construction of the course. Physical education classes substituted construction work for normal activities, and within months, the golf course was completed.
Although strict rules governed attire, equipment, and hours, the course was opened to all Tufts and Jackson students and faculty free of charge. After a year, however, Tufts began to require that students have experience on a golf course before using the Tufts course.
The course remained intact until 1948, when the second hole was destroyed to make room for Jackson Gym. The now five-hole course remained in use, and saw its thirtieth anniversary in 1954. The same year, the course was restructured to provide room for Alumnae Hall, Hodgdon Hall, and Cohen Auditorium. The course survived, in modified form, until 1958, when it was formally closed to make room for the construction of Bush Hall and Tilton Hall.
Source: TD, MS