Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics,


The Howard Sample Prize Scholarship in Physics is named in memory of Howard Sample, who was a professor in the Department of Physics at Tufts University. Professor Sample was known for his love of physics and for his generosity in assisting colleagues, graduate and undergraduate students, and for his kindness to all. The award is given annually to undergraduate students for outstanding performances in Physics 11 and Physics 12.

Howard Harshaw Sample was born in Dallas on September 20, 1938, and received bachelor's and doctoral degrees from the Iowa State University in Ames. After graduate school, he was a NATO postdoctoral fellow at the Clarendon Laboratory in Oxford. He was appointed assistant professor of Physics at Tufts University in 1967, and promoted to professor in 1981. He held many additional appointments such as on the Executive Committee of the Instrument and Measurement Sciences Group of the American Physical Society, visiting scientist at the Francis Bitter National Magnet Laboratory at M.I.T., and chairman of the GTE Laboratories Academic Advisory Council, directing their Undergraduate Research Projects program. He served on many university committees, including the Committee on Academic Awards, of which he was chairman from 1987 to 1990.

His research was on solids at cryogenic temperatures and in high magnetic fields. His colleagues appreciated his deft touch with instruments and hardware and his remarkable ability to spot and solve problems that always occur in complex experiments. Any group with which he worked came to depend on his constant good humor, especially during difficult moments. His publications are extensive. He was widely admired as a popular and enthusiastic teacher. Student evaluations included such statements as "he used an enthusiastic approach to physics," and "he was one of the best professors that I had at Tufts."

Professor Sample died suddenly on February 13, 1993.

Source: BTU[Arts and Sciences/Engineering]; 100H

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources