Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Pharmacology, 1915


The medical school's 1893 course listing described pharmacology - or "materia medica and therapeutics" as it was called at the time - as consisting of "didactic lectures and recitations with practice in writing prescriptions." This course was presented to second-year students by Dr. Frank Wheatley, who became the first chair of the newly named Department of Pharmacology in 1915.

Dr. Wheatley was succeeded by Drs. Frank E. Haskins (1922 -1936); James C. Healy (1936-1948), and Byron B. Clark (1956-1958). In 1958 Dr. Morris Friedkin was appointed chairman; he later became successful in developing a modern department of pharmacology, recruiting a number of new faculty members, and establishing a strong research program that focused on biochemical pharmacology.

When Dr. Friedkin became the chair of the biochemistry department in 1967, most members of his department accepted positions as biochemists, which necessitated the reconstitution of the Department of Pharmacology. It became difficult to find a new chair of pharmacology, and this situation was further complicated by Dr. Friedkin's departure from Tufts in 1968. The search for leadership of the two departments was unproductive, and after much thought it was decided to combine them. In 1969 Dr. Henry Mautner was appointed to chair the combined department, which taught both biochemistry and pharmacology. After he retired in 1984, Dr. David Stollar became the acting chair. Two years later the departments were made separate again. Dr. Stollar was named chairman of biochemistry and Dr. Louis Shuster was appointed acting chair of pharmacology. Drs. Thomas W. North and Theoharis Theoharides joined him as a nucleus for a future Department of Pharmacology.

In 1991 Dr. Richard I. Shader, an internationally known psychopharmacologist who had previously been head of Tufts' Department of Psychiatry, was appointed professor and chairman of the newly named Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. Dr. Shader, who received his M.D. degree from New York University and trained at the Massachusetts General Hospital and the NIH, has served as president of both the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology. He served as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Clinical Psychopharmacology. Under his leadership, a number of outstanding faculty have been recruited to the department and a psychopharmacology unit has been established. The department has also made progress toward its goal of furthering the understanding of the effects of drugs and toxic substances on the cellular and molecular make-up of humans and animals. In the past year the department's faculty have received a variety of honors: Dr. David J. Greenblatt has been cited for being among the world's twenty most frequently published authors in refereed scientific journals; Dr. Lawrence G. Miller has been named the recipient of the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics' Leon Goldberg Young Investigator Award; and Dr. Theoharides has been selected to receive an "excellence in teaching" citation by the graduating class.

Source: COE, 149-51.

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources