Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Tufts Community Union Senate, 1968


Established in 1968, the Tufts Community Union (TCU) Senate is the student parliament and legislative/executive body of TCU Student Government for the undergraduate students of the College of Liberal Arts and Jackson College and the College of Engineering. As of Spring 2000, it is charged with representing the needs and interests of the TCU before the faculty of the undergraduate colleges, the administration, and the Trustees of Tufts College. Through the Treasury, it oversees the use of the student activities fee and ensures that the needs and interests of the students are voiced.

Twenty-eight senators, seven elected from each class, compose the voting body of the TCU Senate. There are also three non-voting members of the senate, representing the Asian/Asian American, Pan-African, and Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual populations at Tufts. An additional commuter representative does have the ability to vote. The holders of these four offices serve as a liaison between their respective communities and the Senate. Representatives appointed to trustees committees also sit on the senate in an ex-officio, non-voting capacity.

The executive board of the TCU Senate is compromised of a president, elected by a popular vote of the members of the TCU, and an in-house elected vice-president, treasurer, historian, and parliamentarian. The assistant treasurer, selected by the Allocations Board, also sits on the Executive Board. The TCU Senate's General Board is compromised of the Executive Board and all chairpersons of the standing committees. It reviews the proposed legislation of the TCU Senate and directs the activities of the standing committees.

There are six standing committees within the TCU Senate: the Administration and Budget Committee, Cultural, Ethnic and Community Affairs Committee, Education Committee, and Services Committee. The Senate can create other committees when it is deemed necessary by the body. Financial matters, including the management of the Treasury, are under the jurisdiction of the Allocations Board (ALBO).

Source: OBS, April 24, 1981

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources