Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Pathology, 1893


Beginning in 1893 pathology was taught at the medical school through lectures and laboratories. Henry W. Dudley was named the first professor and chair of the department and served in that capacity until 1900. That year Dr. Timothy Leary was appointed chairman; he went on to serve for twenty-nine years. During this period he brought prestige to the department through the quality of his teaching and his development of a testing laboratory; this reputation in turn helped attract increased numbers of applicants and much-needed income.

After Dr. Leary retired, interim leadership was provided by Drs. Tracy B. Mallory (1929-1930); Harold MacMahon (1930-1931); and Sidney C. Dalrymple (1931-1933). In 1933 Dr. MacMahon was appointed the first full-time chair and professor of pathology. He subsequently became responsible for teaching both pathology and bacteriology to medical and dental students and for organizing the development of the department. In order to raise funds for this purpose, he made arrangements to provide pathology services to many of the community hospitals in the greater Boston area in exchange for a fee. These funds were then deposited with the college for use by the department. Dr. MacMahon later became successful in recruiting additional faculty, which allowed him to focus on the teaching of pathology. He remained a devoted and highly respected teacher throughout his thirty-eight-year tenure.

When Dr. MacMahon retired in 1970, Dr. Martin Flax, a former member of the faculty at Harvard Medical School who holds a Ph. D. from Columbia University, an M.D. from the University of Chicago, and an M.S. in health management from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was named professor and chair. He also became chief at the New England Medical Center. Under his aegis, additional faculty have been recruited, the department has been renovated and equipped with modern instruments, a graduate program has been instituted, and the residency has been reorganized. Dr. Flax has also supervised the development of a major departmental research program. Originally, immunology and cancer biology research received major emphasis; however, in recent years the program has focused on research involving molecular biology and eukaryotic genetics. The department has been very successful in obtaining research support - it now receives over $3.5 million - and has achieved both a national and international reputation for its work.

Since 1970, when the school introduced "systems" teaching to the curriculum, the pathology department has sponsored a general course for first-year students as well as a component that is incorporated into each of the "systems" courses for second-year students. The department is well known for the quality of its teaching, and members of the faculty have been the recipients of many "excellence in teaching" awards given by graduating classes. The graduate program has also been successful and has attracted increasing numbers of applicants over the years.

Source: COE, 146-47.

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources