Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Anesthesia, 1970


Although anesthetists have served on Tufts' faculty since 1893, the medical school did not establish a formal division or teaching program of anesthesia until 1949. That year Dr. Benjamin Etsten became the first full-time chair of the school's division and of the New England Medical Center Hospital's service. He subsequently recruited faculty for teaching, research, and clinical anesthesia. He also organized teaching programs for third-year students at the New England Medical Center, the Boston Veteran's Administration, St. Elizabeth's Hospital, and the Boston City Hospital; developed electives for students in their fourth year; and established a residency program.

In 1970 departmental status was achieved and Dr. Etsten became the first chair. By the time that he retired in 1974, the department had grown from one staff anesthesiologist and four residents to a group of ten staff members and fifteen residents.

In 1975 Dr. Kurt Schmidt was appointed chairman. The next fourteen years saw additional growth in the department's faculty along with the modernization of what was an already highly technical specialty. In keeping with a national trend, the residency program began to attract increasing numbers of American medical school graduates.

During this time the department's basic and clinical anesthesia research continued and was strengthened by the establishment of the Eleanor Brooks Saltonstall Professorship for Research in Anesthesia and Pain Control. The addition of the new Boston Floating Hospital, built in 1982, brought a surge in clinical activity. Faculty members became involved in cardiac interventions, vascular reconstructive surgery, major organ transplantation, and major joint replacements-as well as out-patient surgery.

In 1983 Dr. Richard Kream assumed leadership of the research laboratory. Under his aegis, several important clinical contributions have been made, ranging from studies on the temperature regulation of patients under anesthesia to alterations in patients undergoing vascular and cardiac surgery.

In 1991 Dr. Heinreich Wurm, a highly skilled anesthetist and a dedicated teacher, became the department's third chair. Dr. Wurm holds an M.D. degree from the University of Tübingen. He received his anesthesia training at T#x00FC;bingen and the Peter Bent Brigham and Children's Hospitals. Under his leadership, the program has continued to include a week in the third-year surgical curriculum as well as a fourth-year elective in the major teaching hospitals.

Source: COE, 127-28.

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources