Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Rushmore, Stephen, 1875-1960


Stephen Rushmore (1875-1960) was the sixth dean of the Tufts College Medical School, holding the position for five years, beginning in 1922.

Rushmore was born in 1875 in Rochester, New York, and spent most of his early life in Plainfield, New Jersey. He received his undergraduate degree from Amherst College in 1897 and his medical degree from Johns Hopkins University in 1902.

He spent a year teaching during his medical studies and the years following his graduation working in several different hospitals, including John Hopkins' and several in New York. He returned to John Hopkins Medical School as an instructor in gynecology in 1906.The following year he became a house officer at the Boston Lying-In Hospital.

Rushmore joined the Tufts' Medical Faculty in 1909 as an instructor in gynecology, while holding position at two of Boston's hospitals. He became an associate professor in 1912 and then professor and dean in 1922, replacing the acting dean Frank G. Wheatley.

Rushmore hoped to make Tufts conform to the Johns Hopkins model of medical education, which would have most likely enabled him to accelerate the development of the school. Unfortunately, he felt that his concerns about the lack of a hospital adjacent to the school, the lack of hospital control, class sizes, and the use of medical school funds to support other schools within the college, were not being addressed by the president or the trustees of the college. As a result of these differences, Rushmore resigned in 1927. He died October 31, 1960,in Bridgton, Maine.

He was a member of the Massachusetts Medical Society, the American Medical Society and various other local and national medical organizations. Rushmore also held the position of dean on the Middlesex MedicalSchool prior to his retirement.

Source: VF; COE, 59-61; TW, Vol. 66 No. 8

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources