Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Charles F. Seymour, Jr. Prize,


The Charles F. Seymour, Jr. Prize is to be awarded annually with preference for a junior or senior participant in musical theatre who has an interest in business studies or career.

Charles Seymour, Jr., A1973, may be best known at Tufts for founding Torn Ticket (now Torn Ticket II) with five of his classmates in 1971. An economics major at Tufts, he appeared in operas and musicals while studying conducting and voice. He was also TCU president, the assistant director of housing, the recipient of a Tufts Alumni Association Service Citation (while still a student), and the first person to direct theater in a Tufts dining hall ("Jacques Brel..." in 1973). He is the fourth generation of his family to direct theater at The Players Club of Swarthmore (where he specializes in major musicals and holds many attendance records over their 89 seasons). His daughter, Liz, is the fifth generation to appear on that stage. After Tufts he earned an M.B.A. from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania while apprenticing for the New York Shakespeare Festival before heading out to lead theaters in Princeton, New Jersey, and St. Louis, Missouri. He has also been the vice president of a major real estate firm, selling major investment real estate, and the senior vice president in charge of International Marketing for a major architectural firm. He now runs his own business, Cloche d'Or Productions, specializing in digital video, digital stills, photography, CDs, and web pages, and lives in Wallingford, Pennsylvania, outside Philadelphia.

Source: BTU[Arts and Sciences/Engineering]; 100H

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
DCA Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources