Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Littleton, Earle Frederick, 1908-1994


Earle Frederick Littleton (1908-1994), E1931, spent more than forty-five years at Tufts, moving from student to head of the Department of Civil Engineering. A loyal professor and alum, Littleton's approach to life at Tufts was typified by his motto, "students come first."

Littleton enrolled at Tufts in 1927 and remained at the institution until his retirement in 1974. As a student he excelled in athletics (football, wrestling, and lacrosse) and participated in many other campus activities, including the Ivy Society, the Ivy Book, and Alpha Tau Omega fraternity. He was also Marshal of the Tower Cross and president of his senior class. Upon graduation he became assistant in Civil Engineering, he became an instructor in 1935.Having continued his studies at Harvard, Littleton applied to the Graduate School of Tufts College in 1936. He was appointed as an assistant professor in 1941, an associate professor in 1947, and a full professor in 1953. From 1958 to 1969, Littleton was chairman of the Department of Civil Engineering. His other ties to Tufts included his service as football and lacrosse coach, chairman of the Academic Awards Committee, and director of war training courses, along with his presence on several of the university's committees.

While active as member of the faculty, Littleton also participated in alumni affairs, belonging to the Tufts Alumni council and its executive board. In 1974, the alumni elected him to a trustee position upon his retirement. A member of Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Pi Sigma, and several civil engineering societies, he was an original appointee to the Designer Selection Board of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and served four consecutive terms as its chair.

Littleton died on July 8, 1994, while residing in Owls Head, Maine. The Earle F. Littleton Scholarship was created in his honor.

Source: 100H, VF, SSDI

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources