Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Cardozo, Antonio de Jesus, 1903-1984


Antonio de Jesus Cardozo (1903-1984), F1934, was the first student to enroll at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.

Born June 14, 1903, in the Cape Verde Islands, Cardozo spent his youth in Portugal before immigrating to the United States at age seventeen. After working as a cowhand on his uncle's California ranch, Cardozo decided to move east and expand his career possibilities. After finishing high school while working nights at a factory in Connecticut, Cardozo enrolled in Suffolk University, where he earned a degree in law in 1929. From there, Cardozo would reverse usual education procedure and enroll as a freshman at Harvard University. Cardozo graduated from Harvard in 1933, and after hearing about the Fletcher School during his senior year, enrolled as the first student in its first class.

Cardozo's association with Fletcher did not end after his 1934 graduation. In fact, Cardozo attended every commencement at Fletcher from 1934-1984, becoming known around campus as "Mr. Fletcher." Cardozo started a tradition by inviting members of the entering class at Fletcher to his Arlington home every year, and was the driving force behind the establishment of the Fletcher Alumni Association.

In 1961, Cardozo, who founded a law firm in Boston after his graduation, became the first Fletcher graduate to receive the Distinguished Service Award from Tufts. In 1968, he would become the first representative of Fletcher elected to the Tufts Board of Trustees.

Besides running his successful law practice, Cardozo was active in community affairs, working closely with the Cambridge Community Center and local Portuguese communities.

Cardozo died unexpectedly on December 9, 1984 at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Source: TC, VF

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources