Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Anne E. Borghesani Memorial Prize,


The Anne E. Borghesani Memorial Prize is an academic scholarship award open to undergraduates in Arts and Sciences and Engineering. It is an annual incentive award that will enable the recipient(s) to undertake a project, activity, or plan of study in any field involving international issues. The prize is designed to encourage personal growth and independence, while increasing one's understanding of all peoples and encouraging a commitment to the world community. The prize is administered by the Program in International Relations.

The award honors the memory of Anne E. Borghesani, J1989, an international relations major. She came to Tufts from a Lexington, Massachusetts, family with a strong Tufts tradition. She had been an active volunteer at Lexington High School and in the community. She also was a family person, an upholder of tradition, close to her parents, grandparents, and brothers. As a loyal friend and great communicator, she brought others together from different religions and cultures. Anne's years at Tufts were a time of intellectual and personal challenge, adventure, and increasing commitment to her friends, the Tufts community, and the global community. She participated in class council and dormitory government, was a resident assistant, co-led an Explorations Class on Differences in America, and interned at the Attorney General's office. Since she was interested in other cultures and travel, she majored in International Relations, traveled to Russia in 1987 with a student group, and lived with a French family when she studied in Grenoble for a semester.

Throughout her short life, Anne's interactions with others consistently exhibited love, warmth, compassion, honesty, and loyalty, and emphasized the importance of personal dignity and freedom of choice. Her travels and studies increased her appreciation of her country and dedication to equal opportunity and justice. She moved to Washington, D.C. after graduation and worked as a legal assistant. At the time of her murder in March 1990, she planned to attend law school and talked of being a public defender.

The Anne E. Borghesani Memorial Prize is a tribute to Anne, whose life was so senselessly and violently cut short. It is designed to encourage personal and intellectual growth in Tufts students, reminiscent of that so evident in Anne.

Source: BTU [Arts and Sciences/Engineering]

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources