Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Office of the Provost, 1951


The Office of the Provost was created in 1951 after the retirement of George S. Miller from his posts of Vice President and Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Tufts College.

After Miller's retirement, Tufts President Leonard Carmichael decided to further divide up the responsibilities of the administration to coincide with the expansion of the college. The position of provost was created to assume the academic administrative duties covered by Miller when he was Vice President. The new provost was expected to oversee the academic affairs of the institution, especially faculty appointments and curriculum problems. The provost also serves as chair of the Academic Council.

In 1953, after original provost John P. Tilton was elected Senior Vice President, the position was renamed Senior Vice President and Provost. The change in the title added control over not only the academic and financial affairs of the university, but also made the provost the immediate assistant to and stand in for the president.

Tilton, the first provost, served from 1951 until his untimely death in 1959. A month later, Leonard Mead was named to the post, and served until 1965. Mead was succeeded by Albert Ullman, who held the position until 1973. After Ullman's retirement, Tufts named Kathyrn McCarthy to the position, making her the first female provost. McCarthy resigned in 1979, citing differences with the administration on the direction of the university. After her resignation, the university conducted a nationwide search for a replacement, and in 1981 hired Tufts professor Sol Gittleman, at the time the chair of the Department of German and Russian Languages. As of 2005, Jamshed Bharucha is the Tufts Provost.


Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources