Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Provost's House, 1857


The Provost's House, formerly known as Marshall House, is located at 48 Professors Row. Built in 1857-58 by John P. Marshall, Professor of Natural Philosophy, acting president in 1861, and member of the original faculty of the college, the house remained as his residence until his death in 1901. One of the oldest residences on campus, the house was one of the first two sales of college property to private individuals (the other being the land on which 72 Professors Row is built).

Marshall House served as faculty housing until 1911, when the house was purchased by Dr. Lee S. McCollister, dean of the Divinity School, who enlarged the house by adding a large living room on its eastern end. He occupied the house until his death in 1941. Dean George S. Miller occupied the house for the next ten years. In 1951, vice-president Nils Y. Wessell made Marshall House his home until he was appointed president of Tufts and moved into the President's House in 1954.

Vice-president and first provost John P. Tilton lived in the house until his death in 1959, and it was with his residence that the house became known as the Provost's House. Senior vice-president and provost Leonard C. Mead occupied the house following Tilton. In 1968, the next provost, Albert D. Ulman took up residence in Marshall House. His successor, provost Kathryn McCarthy, resided in the house from 1973-1980, when Sol Gittleman, senior vice-president and provost, took up residence in the house upon his appointment as provost.

As of 2005, the Provost's House is the temporary home of the Department of Music.

Source: RNTC2

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources