Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Otolaryngology, 1895


In the late nineteenth century, otolaryngology was not taught as a combined specialty as it is today. Otologists, who were specialists in diseases of the ear, also treated nose and throat diseases. Laryngologists focused on the throat but often found themselves invading the field of otology. At this time there were few institutions in America devoted to the treatment of diseases of the ear, nose, and throat; the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary was one of the few major centers of otolaryngology. Residencies and internships were not available, so most specialists were forced to seek training overseas.

In 1893 senior students at the medical school were required to attend an hour of instruction each week in diseases of the eye and ear. They were also obliged to receive an hour of practical instruction in diseases of the nose and throat via lectures and clinics. In 1895 Frederick L. Jack, who was then chairman of the otology department, began teaching students at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary. He was succeeded by Dr. Edward Plummer (1903-1924) and Dr. Harry Cahill (1924-1929), the nation's first neuro-otologist.

In 1895 Dr. William S. Boardman began teaching larnygology at the Boston Dispensary. Ten years later Dr. William E. Chenery, who was chief of laryngology at the Boston Dispensary, was appointed the first chair of that department at the medical school; he served in this capacity until 1929, when otology and laryngology were joined to become a single division. Dr. Harry Inglis was named professor and chair of the new department and chief of otolaryngology at the Boston Dispensary. In 1937 he was succeeded by Dr. Philip Meltzer, M1918, who had trained at the Eye and Ear Infirmary and who was in turn succeeded by Dr. J. Charles Drooker, M1933. He led the department from 1945 to 1968. During these years Tufts students were taught otolaryngology at the Boston City Hospital, the Boston Dispensary, the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, and the Beth Israel Hospital. Courses for third-year students stressed the examination of patients and the treatment of common ear, nose, and throat ailments.

In 1968 Dr. Werner Chasin, was named the first full-time professor and chair of otolaryngology as well as the chief of that division at the New England Medical Center; he subsequently restructured the division to include full-time faculty at both the Boston City Hospital and the New England Medical Center. The residency program, which had been freestanding at the Boston City Hospital, began to involve the New England Medical Center as well. When Tufts withdrew from the Boston City Hospital in 1974, a joint otolaryngology residency program was established with Boston University.

Today, the department is primarily involved in patient care, clinical research, and teaching activities. First-year students now take a class on the inner ear as part of their neuroscience course, while second-year students are taught the examination of the ear, nose, and throat. Third-year students spend one week on the otolaryngology service at one of Tufts' teaching hospitals, and fourth-year students may choose from a number of electives.

Many alumni have achieved distinction as leaders in the field of otolaryngology, including Drs. Meltzer, M1918, Drooker, M1933, and Chasm, M1958, and Drs. Richard Fabian, M1966, Floyd Goffin, M1956, Daniel Miller M1939, Alan Nahum, M1957, Robert Ossof, M1975, and Elliot Strong, M1956.

Source: COE, 145-46

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources