Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Dermatology, 1897


Dermatology was taught to Tufts' senior medical students at the Boston City and Carney Hospitals as early as 1897. The first chair of the department, Dr. James S. Howe, was appointed in 1903. He was succeeded by Drs. Francis J. Keany, Townsend W. Thorndike, and William P. Boardman, all of whom were engaged in private practice.

Dr. John G. Downing, who was professor and chairman from 1944 to 1952, was responsible for establishing a national and international reputation for the department as a result of his interest in the field of industrial dermatology. He also organized a residency at the Boston City Hospital. Dr. Bernard Appel, who led the department from 1952 to 1961, helped develop a program for third-year students that involved both lectures and clinics and allowed them to visit the Boston City Hospital for ward walks, laboratory sessions, and conferences. During Dr. Appel's tenure, faculty members published a number of clinical studies.

In 1961 Dr. Walter F. Lever became the first full-time chair of the department and the director of the services at the Boston City Hospital and the Boston Dispensary. An eminent dermatopathologist and a pioneer in the study of blistering diseases, he developed both a full-time and part-time faculty for teaching and research and established laboratories at the medical school, the Boston Dispensary, and the Boston City Hospital. During this time, the department was also able to obtain federal support for research. By the time Dr. Lever retired in 1977, Tufts possessed a strong department of dermatology, despite the fact that the school had lost the Boston City Hospital's service in 1974.

In 1980 Dr. David S. Feingold, a graduate of Harvard Medical School who had previously been a professor of dermatology at Boston University and chief of that section at the Boston V. A. Medical Center, was appointed professor and chair of Tufts' department and chief at the New England Medical Center. He has since brought the department to an outstanding level of teaching, research, and patient care. The faculty has grown to include nine physicians who specialize in the divisions of general dermatology, dermatological surgery, and dermatological research. Research laboratories have been established in the New England Medical Center's Ziskind Building. The research enterprise developed by Dr. Lever and enhanced by Dr. Feingold and his faculty has earned national recognition for the department.

Source: COE, 132-33.

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources