Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968


Dr. Robert Paul was largely responsible for the creation of a Department of Radiation Oncology at Tufts. As a newly appointed chairman of the radiology department, he called for the establishment of a separate division of radiation oncology-or "therapeutic radiology," as it was called at the time. Thus, in 1968 Dr. Fernando Bloedorn was charged with this responsibility and subsequently established the first department of its kind to exist in any American medical school.

The new department was divided into clinical, physics, and radiobiology divisions; Dr. Bloedorn later organized multidisciplinary clinics involving other specialties. He was able to develop a strong department, which eventually received referrals from many hospitals in the greater Boston area; he also introduced a residency program. After he died in 1975, the department was able to continue flourishing because he had trained a number of adept radiation oncologists. Drs. S. J. Munzenreider and Anthony Piro provided leadership in the interim period.

In 1980 Dr. Hywel Madoc-Jones, who holds a master's degree from Oxford University, a Ph. D. from the University of London, and an M.D. degree from the University of Chicago, was appointed chairman of the Department of Radiation Oncology. Dr. Madoc-Jones has served as president of both the Massachusetts Radiological Society and the New England Society of Radiation Oncology, as a counselor to the American College of Radiology, and as a member of the board of directors of the American Society of Therapeutic Radiation and Oncology. Under his aegis, the department has been strengthened in terms of its physical needs, staffing, and residency program. The department's electives have recently been attracting increasing numbers of students, and the quality of its teaching program has been widely recognized. The department's radiobiology division has been highly productive in basic science research under the leadership of Drs. Donald Wallach, Rupert Schmidt-Ullrich, and Carmia Borek.

Source: COE, 155-56.

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources