Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History
European Center, 1978
The Tufts European Center is located in Talloires, France, in a priory built in the twelfth century. The priory was purchased in 1958 by Donald MacJannet, A1916, H1979, and his wife Charlotte, H1979, and used as a summer camp site for several years before the MacJannets gave the campus to Tufts in 1978.
Talloires lies on the shore of Lake Annecy in the French Alps, an hour's drive from Geneva, Switzerland. The masonry and stone priory is located on an acre and a half of lawns and gardens overlooking the lake.
Each year the center hosts a number of summer study programs. Tufts in Talloires is for undergraduates and offers six-week, full-credit courses on topics of international interest. Student enrolled in the program live with local families. French in Annecy offers intensive instruction in French language at the college level. Tufts Summit is a program for high school juniors or seniors and offers an introduction to the study of international relations as well as a homestay experience. France Before France is a program for college students on the archaeology of the region, in which students participate in a local dig to learn first-hand about archaeological techniques. Landscape Drawing and Painting is a non-credit course which takes advantage of the scenery around Talloires to teach about landscape painting techniques. The center also administers internships for two students from the College of Engineering to work at a local stainless-steel processing plant. Finally, there is L'Anglais American d'Aujourd'hui, an English as a Second Language program for French nationals, which brings students age eighteen and older to the priory for instruction and to interact with the American students there.
Source: TA Winter 1998