Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Cormack, Allan McLeod, 1924-1998


Allan MacLeod Cormack (1924-1998), H1980, recipient of the Ballou Medal in 1978 and member of the Tufts faculty for twenty-two years, was the 1979 winner of the Nobel Prize for his work in developing the computerized axial tomography (CAT) scan.

Cormack was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, on February 23, 1924.He attended the University of Cape Town, graduating in 1944.He continued his studies at the University of Cambridge. From 1950 to 1956, Cormack was a lecturer at his alma mater. Following a year-long research fellowship at Harvard, Cormack joined the Tufts faculty as assistant professor of physics. His research while at Tufts focused on the interaction of subatomic particles. He became a full professor at the university in 1964 and chairman of the physics department from 1968 to 1976.He retired in 1980.

In 1979, Cormack and Sir Godfrey Newbold Hounsfield were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for their work in developing a diagnostic technique of computerized axial tomography. Cormack received the award for his work on CAT scanning, despite having never earned a doctorate degree in any field of science. In 1980, he became a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. President Bush awarded Cormack the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest scientific honor, in November 1990.Cormack died in Winchester, Massachusetts, on May 7, 1998. He was married to Barbara Seavey, with whom he had three children.

Source: VF; EB; TC, Winter 1991

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources