Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Halligan Hall, 1925


Originally built as a radio factory in 1925, Halligan Hall was rededicated in 1983, after a $600,000 gift from William J. Halligan, E1923, H1937, trustee emeritus, and his wife Katherine Halligan. It had been known as the Hooper Laboratories for Electrical Engineering since 1940.

In 1925, the AMRAD Corporation, which broadcast from a radio tower on the Tufts hillside, built a factory on the former site of Pansy Park. It remained in use until 1930, when AMRAD merged with Motorola and moved their business to the Midwest. Tufts gained control of the property, and the Maintenance Department set up shop inside.

On June 5, 1940, the building was dedicated as the Hooper Laboratories for Electrical Engineering, in honor of William J. Hooper, A1877, G1878, H1898, a former Tufts professor instrumental in the founding of the Department of Electrical Engineering. The newly renovated building contained large labs, electrical equipment, and a large machine shop.

In 1983, Hooper Laboratories was renamed Halligan Hall, after a large gift from Halligan and his wife allowed for major renovations in the facility. Between 1983 and 1986, renovations in Halligan split the large labs into smaller, more convenient facilities, shrank the size of the machine shop, and provided new equipment for all the labs. In 1986, the Electro-Optics Technology Center was finished inside Halligan. It contained more labs and office space.

On October 23, 1994, Halligan Hall was again rededicated. In the previous year, the Department of Computer Science had been moved to Halligan, and the labs were reorganized to include both computer science and electrical engineering equipment.

In 2000, Halligan Hall continues to serve as home to the Departments of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, as well as offices for the Department of Physical Education/Athletics.

Source: OBS, TD, RNTB3, TJ

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources