Concise Encyclopedia of Tufts History

Sauer, Anne

Branco, Jessica

Bennett, John

Crowley, Zachary


Department of Medicine, 1893


The Department of Medicine was among the first departments of the School of Medicine. From 1893 to 1948 the chair of the Department of Medicine served only a part-time role at Tufts while continuing in private practice. During these years student teaching was provided at the Boston Dispensary, the Boston City Hospital, the Carney Hospital, and St. Elizabeth's Hospital, while the department's research was primarily clinical. After the Pratt Diagnostic Clinic opened in 1938, students were taught at the New England Medical Center with increasing frequency.

In 1930s and 1940s the Departments of Medicine at both Tufts and the New England Medical Center were enhanced by the addition of a number of distinguished physicians who had fled Germany, including Drs. Siegfried Thannhauser, Gerhard Schmidt, Heinrich Brugsch, Joseph Igersheimer, and Alfred Hauptmann. The department was further strengthened by the arrival of Drs. Edwin Astwood, William Dameshek and William Fishman. After Dr. Samuel Proger was named professor and chair at the school and physician-in-chief at the New England Medical Center in 1948, he further strengthened the department at Tufts by recruiting a number of outstanding faculty members, among them, Drs. Marshall Kaplan, Jerome Kassirer, Herbert Levine, Seymour Reichlin, Robert Schwartz, William Schwartz, and Louis Weinstein.

When Dr. Proger retired in 1971, Dr. William Schwartz became chairman at the school and physician-in-chief at the New England Medical Center. He served in that capacity until 1976, when he was named Tufts' first Vannevar Bush University Professor. Dr. Kassirer then became acting chair.

The following year Dr. Sheldon M. Wolff, one of the nation's most highly regarded medical scientists, was appointed chairman at Tufts and physician-in-chief at the New England Medical Center. He proceeded to build upon the accomplishments of his predecessors and has been able to develop a first-rate department that provides students with an excellent education and offers clinical training at all of the school's major teaching hospitals. Since Dr. Wolff became chairman, the number of departmental faculty has increased in all of those hospitals. At the New England Medical Center the number of full-time staff has grown from 50 to 138, the number of house staff from 28 to 56, the number of clinical fellows from 35 to 50, and the number of research fellows from 41 to 110. Research space has expanded from 25,000 to 125,000 square feet, and research support has increased from $2 million to $21 million. The total budget of the department has risen from $5 million to over $40 million.

Source: COE, 133-34.

Subject terms:
  • The encyclopedia seeks to capture more than 150 years of Tufts' achievements, societal contributions and outstanding alumni and faculty in concise entries. As a source of accurate factual information, the Encyclopedia can be used by anyone interested in the history of Tufts and of the people who have made it the unique institution it is.
This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
TARC Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
Numeric Entries
Dame, Lorin Low, 1838-1903
Dana, Charles A., 1881-1975
Dana Laboratory, 1963
Daniel Ounjian Prize in Economics,
Davies, Caroline Stodder, 1864-1939
Davies House, 1894
De Florez Prize in Human Engineering, 1964
de Pacheco, Kaye MacKinnon, ca. 1910-ca. 1985
Dean Hall, 1887-1963
Dean, Oliver, 1783-1871
Dearborn, Heman Allen, 1831-1897
Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology, 1893
Department of Anesthesia, 1970
Department of Art and Art History, 1930
Department of Biochemistry, 1893
Department of Chemistry, 1882
Department of Community Health, 1930
Department of Dermatology, 1897
The Department of Economics, 1946
Department of Medicine, 1893
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Department of Neurology, 1893
Department of Neuroscience, 1983
Department of Neurosurgery, 1951
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1893
Department of Ophthamology, 1893
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, 1906
Department of Otolaryngology, 1895
Department of Pathology, 1893
Department of Pediatrics, 1930
Department of Pharmacology, 1915
Department of Physics and Astronomy, 1854
Department of Physiology, 1893
Department of Psychiatry, 1928
Department of Radiation Oncology, 1968
Department of Radiology, 1915
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, 1955
Department of Surgery, 1893
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy, 1973
Department of Urology, 1910
Dental Health Sciences Building, 1969
Dewick, Cora Alma (Polk), 1875-1977
Dewick/MacPhie Dining Hall, 1959
Dickson Professorship of English and American History, 1913
Dirlam, Arland A., 1905-1979
Dog Cart, 1900
Dolbear, Amos Emerson, 1837-1910
Donald A. Cowdery Memorial Scholarship, 1946
Dr. Benjamin Andrews Professorship of Surgery, 1987
Dr. Philip E. A. Sheridan Prize, 1977
The Drug Bust, 1970
Dudley, Henry Watson, 1831-1906
Dugger, Edward Jr., 1919-75
Durkee, Frank W., 1861-1939
Durkee, Henrietta Noble Brown, 1871-1946
 List of Sources