Here and There at Tufts
The Bromfield-Pearson Building was built in 1893 from the funds of the late Henry B. Pearson, and is specially equipped for the laboratory in Pattern Making and Machine Work, together with drafting and recitation rooms. It is a substantial, three-story brick building measuring one hundred by fifty feet. Although it was originally designed to be furnished with heat, light, and power from its own plant, these are now supplied from the adjoining power station. The shops are driven by independent motors and the building is thoroughly lighted by electricity. The third floor is largely occupied by a hall which is used for lectures, large classes, and the meetings of the Tufts Engineering Society.
In this building the work of the Bromfield-Pearson School is also conducted. This school is intended to meet the wants of a limited number of mature young men whose preparation for an Engineering course may be somewhat deficient, but whose experience in the applied field of Engineering may qualify them to pursue work of a College grade while making up these deficiencies. By this means an Engineering education is made possible to those who may have been deprived of opportunities for obtaining the necessary preparation, or who may have allowed considerable time between the high school and the college course. A mature mind, industrious habits, and a keen appreciation of the value of the higher education in Engineering are the essential qualifications for engaging in this work.
G. C. A.