The History and Antiquities of London, Westminster, Southwark, and Parts Adjacent, vol. 2

Allen, Thomas


The Court of Common Council.


This court, as already observed, consists of the lord mayor, aldermen, and representatives of the several wards; and being the city legislature, make bye-laws for the good government thereof; they assemble in , as often as the lord mayor by his summons thinks proper to convene them; they annually select from among themselves a committee of aldermen and commoners, for letting the city lands. They likewise appoint the following committees, viz. aldermen and commoners, for letting the bridge-house estates; aldermen and commoners, for transacting the affairs belonging to the benefactions of sir Thomas Gresham, the lord mayor being always of the number; aldermen and commoners for improving the navigation of the river Thames; aldermen and commoners as a committee of control over the coal and corn meters; aldermen and commoners as a committee for general purposes; the lord mayor and certain of the aldermen, together with commoners, as a committee for improvements within the city, and the same for improving the port of London. They also, by virtue of a royal grant, yearly appoint a governor, deputy, and assistants, for managing the city lands in Ireland. They have also a right of disposing of the offices of town-clerk, common-serjeant, judges of the sheriffs' court, common pleader, common crier, coroner, bailiff of the borough of , comptroller, remembrancer, solicitor, clerk of the peace, registrar of the mayor's court, clerks of the court of requests, comptroller of the bridge-house, water-bailiff, clerk of the works, coal meters, keeper of and assistants, clerk at the bridge-house, collector of the city dues, clerks of the coal market, and keeper of the Green-yard.

This object is in collection Subject Temporal Permanent URL
Component ID:
To Cite:
DCA Citation Guide    EndNote
Detailed Rights
View all images in this book
 Title Page
 CHAPTER I: History of London, from the Accession of William and Mary, to the reign of George the Second
 CHAPTER II: History of London during the reign of George the Second
 CHAPTER III: History of London from the Accession of George the Third, to the year 1780
 CHAPTER IV: History of London continued to the Union
 CHAPTER V: History of London from the Union to the Jubilee, 1809
 CHAPTER VI: History of London from the Jubilee to the Peace of 1814
 CHAPTER VII: History of London continued to the accession of George the Fourth
 CHAPTER VIII: Account of the Civil Government of the City by Portreves, Bailiffs, and Mayors, with a list of the latter...
 CHAPTER IX: An account of the Aldermen and Sheriffs, with a list of the latter
CHAPTER X: Lists and brief Accounts of the various Officers and Courts within the City
CHAPTER XI: Some account of the Ecclesiastical Government of the city of London, with a List and Biographical Notices of the Bishops of the see
CHAPTER XII: Some Account of the Military Government of London, and the Artillery Company
CHAPTER XIII: An Account of the twelve principal Companies of the City of London
CHAPTER XIV: An Account of the Companies of the City of London, alphabetically arranged
 CHAPTER XV: An Account of the River Thames
CHAPTER XVI: Historical and topographical account of London Bridge, Westminster Bridge, Blackfriars Bridge, Waterloo Bridge, Southwark Bridge, and the Thames Tunnel
CHAPTER XVII: Topographical and Historical Account of the Tower of London