COMMITTEE ON STUDENT LIFE ANNUAL REPORT, 2014-15

The Committee on Student Life has jurisdiction and operates in five spheres: (1) it conducts the Wendell Phillips Award competition that culminates in the choice of the undergraduate speaker at the Baccalaureate ceremony; (2) it serves as the hearing panel of first instance in cases brought against student groups for violation of university and school policies and regulations, and as the appeal panel for decisions rendered against individual students by the Dean of Students Office or decisions of the TCU Judiciary regarding individual students and student groups; (3) it oversees the operations of student government, including vetting proposed changes to the TCU Constitution to ensure that the changes would not violate university/school policies and regulations; (4) it collaborates with the Administration in the formulation of the policies and regulations that guide undergraduate life and are set out in the Pachyderm handbook and other publications; (5) it examines, if need be, other aspects of student life on the Medford campus.

The Committee on Student Life met eleven times during the academic year 2014-15.

Helen Marrow was Faculty Chair from September 2014 through February 2015. Jamie Kirsch and Philip Starks became Faculty Co-Chairs on March 1 due to Helen Marrow's maternity leave.

The Committee's major activities this academic year were as follows:

- 1. A series of meetings were devoted to the **Wendell Phillips Award** competition. Committee members formulated questions for the oral and written presentations of candidates, judged the submitted presentations in order to select the finalists, judged the finalists' oral presentations, and chose the winner, Michael Maskin.
- 2. Numerous meetings were held to plan for, convene, and decide consequences for **Pi Delta's** (**formerly AEPi**) **judicial hearing** (details can be found in the 2014-15 meeting minutes).
- 3. **TCUJ Bylaws Revision**: CSL voted unanimously on Feb 26, 2015 to accept changes to TCUJ Bylaws re: rules and procedures for group recognition.
- 4. **Student Handbook: Code of Conduct/Sanctions Revisions**: CSL worked closely with Mickey Toogood in the Office of Judicial Affairs, Dean Bruce Reitman, and OEO, to revise the code of conduct and implement a new system of sanctions. Discussion is ongoing.

Faculty Chair for 2015-16

• Jamie Kirsch will serve as convener for the first meeting in September 2015, when a new faculty chair will be chosen. Jamie Kirsch is unable to serve as chair in 2015-16 because he and his wife are expecting their second child in July 2015.

Goals for 2015-16:

• Continue to work with the Office of Judicial Affairs and OEO on the code of conduct/sanctions.

On behalf of the Committee on Student Life.

Jamie Kirsch, Faculty Co-Chair Philip Starks, Faculty Co-Chair

CSL Members, 2014-15: Consuelo Cruz; Tafari Duncan; Benjamin Fuligni; Calvin Gidney; Joseph Golia; Linda Jiang; Jamie Kirsch; Ece Kocak; Helen Marrow; Gregory McGonigle; Mary Pat McMahon; Andrew Ramsburg; Brian Gravel; Anne Poncet-Montange; Bruce Reitman; Phillip Starks; Michael Toogood