THE TOBACCO INSTITUTE

1875 I STREET. NORTHWEST WASHINGTON. DC 20006 202/457-4800 • 800/424-9876

KURT L. MALMGREN
Senior Vice President
State Activities
202/457-4857

MEMORANDUM

February 26, 1991

TO:

Regional Vice Presidents/Directors

FROM:

Kurt L. Malmgren

SUBJECT:

AFL-CIO Employee Privacy Statement

The AFL-CIO Executive Council on February 19 passed a formal statement on "Employee Privacy." A copy of the position paper is enclosed for your information. This resolution specifically references the issue of smokers' rights in the broader context of protecting workers' rights with respect to off-the-job behavior, and puts the AFL-CIO on record as supporting smokers' rights within that broader context.

Protecting smokers' rights through a broad employee privacy statement is consistent with AFL-CIO past practice of addressing issues of importance to the unions in the tobacco industry. Previous examples include statements citing labor opposition to cigarette excise taxes in the context of fair tax policy and labor opposition to legislated or employer-mandated smoking restrictions as related to collective bargaining and indoor air quality.

This statement is an internal AFL-CIO policy action. As such, it is extremely important that any use or transmittal of the statement with organized labor be done by labor organizations to other labor organizations. The unions and representatives of the Tobacco Industry Labor Management Committee are prepared to undertake this activity, as appropriate, to representatives of individual unions and to state and local labor bodies.

It is critically important to emphasize that it would be inappropriate and could prove counterproductive for Tobacco Institute staff, legislative counsel or consultants to distribute this statement directly to organized labor. The five unions on the Committee and their representatives are the appropriate individuals to undertake the transmittal of this document.

If you have questions about this contact Susan Stuntz or Walter Woodson.

Enclosure

cc:

D. Avedon

P. Donoho

G. Minshew

S. Stuntz

W. Woodson

C. Yoe