cc: Poncher 10 Malyn pour bord letter. Douber bord letter. AMERICAN FARM BUREAU FEDERATION

225 TOUHY AVENUE · PARK RIDGE · ILLINOIS · 60068 · (312) 399-5700 · FAX (312) 399-5896 500 MARYLAND AVENUE S.W. + SUITE 800 + WASHINGTON, D.C. + 20024 + (202) 484-3600 + FAX (202) 484-3604

January 13, 1993

The Honorable Edward Madigan Secretary of Agriculture U.S. Department of Agriculture Washington, D.C. 20250

Dear Secretary Madigan:

The American Farm Bureau Federation, the nation's largest general farm organization with 4.1 million members, expresses our concern over and ask for reconsideration of the executive order banning smoking in all federal buildings. The proposed executive order is unwarranted, unnecessary and highly discriminatory toward producers and consumers of tobacco products. The signators of this letter representing all the tobacco-producing regions in the United States urge your strong opposition to the Office of Management and Budget's (OMB) ban on smoking in federal buildings.

For decades smokers and non-smokers have coexisted peacefully and productively with mutual respect and consideration. An executive order in the final days of the Bush Administration to ban smoking in federal buildings is neither warranted nor appropriate.

We respectively request that you use your position as secretary of agriculture and representative of this nation's 35,000 tobacco farmers to implore OMB to rescind this executive order.

Sincerely,

Dean Kleckner, President Harry Pearson, President American Farm Bureau Fed. Indiana Farm Bureau Federation

Norma O'Leary, President Connecticut Farm Bureau Fed.

William Sprague, President Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation

Carl Loop, Jr., President A. Gordon Price, President Florida Farm Bureau Federation Massachusetts FBF, Inc

Mort Ewing, President

Charles Kruse, President Georgia Farm Bureau Federation Missouri Farm Bureau Federation **TIMO 0001018** 

Confidential Missouri Tobacco Litigation Case No. 972-1465

Page Two January 13, 1993 <u>The Honorable Edward Madigan</u>

W. B. Jenkins, President North Carolina Farm Bureau
Federation
Fred Finney, President Ohio Farm Bureau Federation
Keith Eckel, President Pennsylvania Farmers Association
Harry S. Bell, President South Carolina Farm Bureau
Joe Hawkins, President Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation
C. Wayne Ashworth, President Virginia Farm Bureau Federation
Fred G. Butler, Sr., President West Virginia Farm Bureau
Howard Poulson, President Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation

## TIMO 0001019

.

.