for TUFTS MEDICINE

Strategic planning effort tackles the medical curriculum

Strategic planning at the School of Medicine is moving into its next major phase—how students will be educated in the future. Three working groups will transform the strategic plan's vision into an innovative new curriculum, scheduled to launch in the fall of 2008 with the Class of 2012.

Jim Baleja, Ph.D., and Arthur Rabson, M.D., are co-chairs of the Med-Foundations Working Group, which will revamp the core requirements for preclerkship education. The MedCore Working Group will reconsider core clinical education, integrating advanced basic sciences to improve students' preparation for graduate education. John Castellot, Ph.D., and Jody Schindelheim, M.D., serve as co-chairs of that effort. The MedExplorations Working Group, co-chaired by Harris Berman, M.D., and Mark Pearlmutter, M.D., will focus on career exploration, mentoring, enrichment and community service opportunities and how those will interface with the required curriculum.

All members of the medical school community are invited to contribute to the educational strategic planning process. Working group meeting minutes and draft reports will be posted on the Tufts University Sciences Knowledgebase (TUSK) for review and comment by faculty, staff and students.

For more information, TUSK users can click on "Educational Strategic Planning" under "Useful Links" on the TUSK homepage (http://www.tusk.tufts.edu). Faculty who wish to contribute to any of the working groups as consultants should contact Molly Reas at molly.reas@tufts.edu.

Educational innovators

Four proposals that address areas of curricular need in the medical school's Educational Strategic Plan have been selected to receive the third annual Innovations in Education Intramural Grants.

The proposals present "particularly innovative models for improving mentoring and in the rapidly growing field of simulation that leverages residency training and multidisciplinary efforts across several of our affiliated hospitals," Dean **Michael Rosenblatt,** M.D., said.

The faculty selected and their projects are: Dmitry Nepomnayshy, M.D., Lahey Clinic, "Integration of Simulation and Laparoscopic Surgical Training for Medical Students;" Joel Reisman, M.D., and Nora Laver, M.D., Tufts-NEMC, "Innovations in Teaching Ophthalmic Surgery and Ocular Pathology;" Michael Rosenblum, M.D., (representing a faculty working committee), Baystate Medical Center, "Educational/Career Innovations Curriculum for TUSM Students;" and Mihaela S. Stefan, M.D., Gladys Fernandez, M.D., Michael Picchioni, M.D., and David Page, M.D., Baystate Medical Center, "Simulation-based Training for Third-year Medical Students: A Combined Medical and Surgical Effort to Link Theory with Practice."

HERE & THERE

The Distinguished Faculty Awards recognize those who have made outstanding contributions to the School of Medicine in the areas of teaching, scholarship and service. Nominated and evaluated by their colleagues, this year's recipients are: Sherwood L. Gorbach, M.D., professor of public health and family medicine; Laura Liscum, Ph.D., professor of physiology and director of the Cellular and Molecular Physiology Program; Michael Mendelsohn, M.D., F.A.C.C., the Elisa Kent Mendelsohn Professor of Molecular Cardiology; and Barbara R. Talamo, Ph.D., professor and chair of neuroscience and professor of physiology.

Thirty-six awards were presented to members of the Class of 2006 on May 16 at the Senior Dinner and Awards Night at the Seaport Hotel in Boston. Dean Michael Rosenblatt, M.D., welcomed more than 300 attendees, and Francis A. D'Ambrosio, M.D., assistant professor of ophthalmology, gave the invocation. Rosenblatt, Amy Kuhlik, M.D., dean of student affairs, and Alan Harvey, M.D., M.B.A., from the Massachusetts Medical Society presented the awards. Class President Pavandeep Bagga and representatives of the Student Council presented teaching awards to faculty.

GREAT MENTORS

John Libertino, M.D., and Laurie **Demmer,** M.D., are the recipients of this year's Milton O. (M30) and Natalie V. Zucker Clinical Teaching Prizes, which recognize clinical faculty for innovation and the ability to motivate students. Libertino is vice chairman of the Lahev Clinic's Board of Trustees and has been a professor of urology at Tufts for 10 years. Demmer, associate professor of pediatrics, has been a member of the clinical teaching faculty at Tufts-NEMC since 2002 and is chief of genetics and metabolism. Laurence Conway, M.D., clinical director of cardiac diagnostics and director of critical care at Lawrence Memorial Hospital, is this year's recipient of the Mark Aisner, M.D., Award for Excellence in Teaching Physical Diagnosis. Conway, an assistant professor, is also assistant director of the Adult Cardiac Catheterization Lab at Tufts-NFMC.

CAMPUS IDENTITY

With the assistance of Anshen+ Allen+Rothman, an architectural firm, the deans of Tufts' health sciences schools, other university administrators and Tufts-NEMC leaders are developing a master plan to create an integrated identity for the Boston campus.

The plan will incorporate changes to enliven the campus in the short-term as well as longerrange plans for a campus center, classrooms and other spaces that will provide opportunities for social interaction. The medical school community will have the opportunity to comment on the master plan at meetings of the general faculty and Faculty Senate. For more information on the medical school strategic plan, go to www.tufts.edu/med/strategicPlan/whatsNew.031606.html.

Clinical professor named dean of admissions

David A. Neumeyer, M.D., assistant clinical professor of medicine at Tufts, has been appointed dean of admissions for the medical school, effective July 1. He has been a member of the school's Admissions Committee for five years.

Neumeyer is a staff physician in pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine at the Lahey Clinic Medical Center in Burlington and is assistant director of the Sleep Disorders Center and director of the Sleep Medicine Fellowship at Lahey. He recently was elected vice president of the Massachusetts Thoracic Society.

He completed his undergraduate and medical education at the University of Rochester and New York Medical College, respectively, and did his residency at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston. He is board-certified in internal medicine, pulmonary medicine, critical care medicine and sleep medicine.

To further strengthen the school's admissions efforts, John Matias has been promoted to the new position of associate dean for admissions and enrollment management. He has been involved extensively in admissions as a member of the committee, as presenter of the medical school curriculum during Interview Day and as supervisor of the director of admissions. With Dean Neumeyer, Matias will be responsible for implementing recommendations from the Admissions Review Committee.

Researchers awarded \$2.8M NIH contract

Two Baystate Medical Center researchers will contribute to a multi-center study investigating interventions for acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). Jay Steingrub, M.D., associate professor of medicine and associate chair for clinical research in Baystate's Department of Medicine, and Mark Tidswell, M.D., assistant professor of medicine, were awarded a six-year NIH contract for clinical research. Funding from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute—totaling more than \$2.8 million over the next six years—will support a clinical research center at Baystate. The researchers will work with 12 other centers, collectively known as the ARDS Network.

FEEDBACK

The *Dean's Letter for Tufts Medicine* is published eight times a year by the Office of the Dean of Tufts University School of Medicine. We welcome comments and story ideas. Contact Editor Jacqueline Mitchell at jacqueline.mitchell@tufts.edu or 617.636.3602.

www.tufts.edu/med/deansletter