0.50 cubic ft., 1 bound volume
In 1893 several physicians, discontent with the training of physicians at that time, banded together to start the Tufts Medical School. These founding fathers had been dissatisfied with the members and actions of the Governing Body for the Boston College of Physicians and Surgeons and regarded that school's standards as being too low and the laboratory and clinical work to be insufficient. Consequently, the seven founding fathers started Tufts College Medical School as part of Tufts College so as to encourage an academic program of higher standards. Initially, the School of Medicine was located in a three story building at 188 Boylston St., where the Four Seasons Hotel currently stands. In 1949, the school moved to its current location on Harrison Avenue.
A finding aid is a description of a collection of archival material, which will help you discover what records are available for research. It provides information about a collection, the collection's creators, and an outline of the collection's contents. Learn more about finding aids.