Samuel Proger papers, 1930-1990
This collection has:
5.30 cubic ft.
Samuel Proger, M.D., (1906-1984) was Physician-in-Chief at the Pratt Clinic/New England Center Hospital (PC/NECH) and Chair of the Department of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. He played an integral role in the development of what is now the Tufts Medical Center, what was once a consortium of individual medical institutions that later merged into a single unit known as the Tufts-New England Medical Center, the primary teaching hospital for the Tufts University School of Medicine. Dr. Proger began his career at the Boston Dispensary in 1931 and retired from New England Center Hospitals in 1971. A doctor as well as an expert administrator, he facilitated the expansion of the Boston Dispensary’s diagnostic ward into the Pratt Clinic. His participation in the Bingham Associates (of both Maine and Massachusetts) helped modernize modern medical care by utilizing a three-pronged approach: teaching, research, and patient care. Like his mentor Joseph Pratt, he advocated for the development of both research and clinical laboratory programs because he believed research was essential to good clinical care of patients. He served on the Board of Trustees of the New England Medical Center and the Board of Governors of the Tufts-New England Medical Center, Inc. In addition to his administrative efforts, he made several contributions in the areas of cardiology and heart disease. In 1973, Dr. Proger’s many accomplishments were honored by the opening of the Proger Health Services Building. He died in 1984.
View Finding Aid
A finding aid is a description of a collection of archival material, which will help you discover what records are available for research. It provides information about a collection, the collection's creators, and an outline of the collection's contents. Learn more about finding aids.