Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences, 1850-2012

This collection has:

4.50 cubic ft.

The Department of Geology first appeared in the Catalogue of Tufts College for the 1892-1893 academic year. By the 1893-1894 academic year, the Department of Geology articulated a list of courses that comprised its curriculum. Professor Marshall was listed as being the head of the Department. For the 1902-1903 academic year, the Department of Geology articulated the following philosophy and mission statement, "The subjects offered in the department of Geology have a twofold object: to give an outline of the structure and history of the earth; and to give a training in the methods of observational science".

View Online Materials

Some of the materials from this collection are available online. Not all materials have necessarily been digitized. View the finding aid or contact DCA for more information.

View Finding Aid

A finding aid is a description of a collection of archival material, which will help you discover what records are available for research. It provides information about a collection, the collection's creators, and an outline of the collection's contents. Learn more about finding aids.